About Biyaherong Barat

Gubat sorsogon biketouring manila to bicol

“When you talk to others… speak positively about us (Filipinos) and our country (Philippines)” from Alexander H. Lacson’s book, ’12 Little Things Every Filipino Can Do To Help Our Country’.

Filipinos are bound by an oath as sacred as Mother Nature – to love the country, to serve the country – and being an ordinary citizen as I am is no excuse not to fulfill my sacramental obligation. Thus, finding a way to contribute for the betterment or in honor of the Philippines and the Filipino people has become a personal pursuit of purpose.

Blame traveling for inflaming these ideals for in these journeys I found the fuel. No less than the Philippine Islands itself from summit to sea and everything in between are the embers that kept my fire burning. Ideals forged by traveling. Witnessing breath-taking landscapes and tropical beaches that have the makings of a paradise. An island nation molded by peoples of diverse cultures, religion, and beliefs yet stand together as one identity. Sixty seven thousand years of rich history that shaped the Philippines to an extraordinary country that it is today. The farther I went, the more I see and learn, the more this profound attachment grows.

Such great inspirations compelled me to create BiyaherongBarat.com with a rock-solid motive: to bring the Philippines to the Filipinos. This travel blog holds an eccentric collection of narratives that takes readers on a journey across local destinations both within reach and those far-flung. Here you’ll find tales of adventures – places, people, and life – told in form of images. It is a smorgasbord of visual delight that makes reading BiyaherongBarat.com a one-of-a-kind experience in its own right.

Beauty and positivity, through words and images, are the instruments of BiyaherongBarat.com in spurring this new-aged revolution. Means that are simple yet powerful enough to start a ripple of optimism, goodness, and hope. With these humble tools I hope to touch the lives of many and perhaps rekindle a light of patriotism that has long been sitting dormant in the darkest crevasses of our hearts.

I am Jed Rosell – a photographer, a blogger. I am a Filipino in thought, in word, and in deed. This is my calling and I am born to move.

iba zambales

Iba, Zambales (2012)

Nogas island anini-y antique

Anini-y, Antique (2013)

Maguindanao Pink mosque

Datu Saudi Ampatuan, Maguindanao (2014)

Atok Benguet

Atok, Benguet (2015)

Real, Quezon

Real, Quezon (2016)

E-mail: jedryan_rosell@yahoo.com.ph
Instagram: instagram.com/biyaherongbarat
Facebook: facebook.com/biyaherongbarat/
Twitter: twitter.com/biyaherongbarat

63 thoughts on “About Biyaherong Barat

  1. Hey bro, I suggest you put dollar conversions on your trip details that would help a lot!

    -your friendly kapitbahay
    Mike

  2. It is nice to hear and read of Filipinos with pure love for his country and fellowmen. It is of great pride to come to know your website. I hope to meet and get the chance to travel with you in the future..

    • Hi Icel,

      Thank you very much. I think its my duty as Filipino citizen to share how beautiful our country is. I would love to travel with you someday, or may our paths cross in our journeys.

      Have a great day. =)

  3. Hi Jed, you have an amazing site and i am blessed that you decided to pursue your passion despite the challenges, that is truly inspiring. i am now a fan and your posts are so helpful with the travel plans set for the year.

    thank you for making me proud to be Pinoy … keep safe and i pray that you will continue to uphold your mission intact … btw, your photos are truly stunning … God bless you, dear Jed 🙂

    April

    • Hello April,

      I am glad that you like my website. Thank you very much for those flattering and humbling comments. I deeply appreciate it.

      We have a very beautiful country which is something us Filipinos should be proud of. I promise to keep on moving, and telling stories of how beautiful the Philippine islands are to the whole world. Thank you very much, ang God bless you too, April. =)

  4. my very first time to visit your blog, i become an instant fan. really. Hope it’s not late to follow your footstep. Cheers!

  5. This blog is what im looking for, aside from ideas where to spend my vacations, i like how you document it most especilly the photographs. I am also a 3 months old photographer though, i really like your photographs once again, 🙂

  6. I love this blog! I am coming to the Philippines as part of my first ever trip outside the USA, alas I will only be there three days as part of a multi nation trip but I am looking forward to it. Unfortunately I am staying in Makati and do not think I will have much chance to get outside the city to see the country side or beaches but I hope to come back and see more.

  7. Your blog is amazing. And thank you for stumbling around our small town, Gubat Sorsogon. Reading that post makes me feel nostalgic about the place. Grew up in that town but haven’t been there for almost 2 years now. If you plan to go back there, hope I can tag along and be your tour guide. 🙂

    • Thank you very much, Celine. I just love your hometown, lovely place and most importantly very nice people (met lots of friends there). Every time I get the chance, I visit Gubat even on just random days. =D

      I’m not the best tour guide but you’re always welcome to tag along.

  8. Thank you for the good Calaguas adventure Jed and will definitely visit again. or whatever you recommend next 🙂

  9. Philippines have so much to offer. I love my birthplace. So proud of your talent, and for showing to all the beauty of our very own country.

  10. Why I have only seen this now? 😦
    You’re determination to make the whole world know a thing or two in the Philippines is simply nationalistic in nature. I’m proud to be your follower and I can’t wait to find myself reading your blogs. ❤

  11. I enjoy reading your blogs and makes me want to travel the Philippines. True enough that there are still beautiful places existing in our country! Keep it up and hoping for more blogs! 🙂

  12. Hi Jed,

    Magandang araw!
    I have sent an email to “jedryan_rosell@yahoo.com.ph” regarding affiliate program.
    Would it be possible for you to check it?
    Thanks and more power to your nice blog!

    Cheers!
    -Norman

  13. Amazing to see people like you making a journal while traveling. I do hope that they will always put some more value on your content so that people can appreciate your work. 🙂

  14. Hi Sir Jed, you have done well in conveying ‘Beauty and positivity, through words and images’ on your posts. Your photo compositions and story telling are well-thought of. I’m an inspired fan and I admire the patriotism.

  15. Pingback: Top 20 Travel Blogs in the Philippines to Inspire Your Wanderlust

  16. Hi there! You might want to try Biyaheroes as your ticket provider for your next trip. They provide real-time seat selector and real-time updates and reminders of your trip. They also offer installments on payments via Akulaku. No credit card needed. Visit https://biyaheroes.com/#!/ for more info and bookings of your ticket. Happy trip! 🙂

  17. Pingback: TRAVEL BLOG – Site Title

  18. Pingback: TOP 20 TRAVEL BLOGS IN THE PHILIPPINES TO INSPIRE YOUR WANDERLUST – Site Title

Leave a comment